Formula to change X-axis Values

Support questions for Flow CSV Viewer and Editor.
Ulrich76

Formula to change X-axis Values

Post by Ulrich76 »

Sorry for my question, but I am new in using the Flow CSV Editor and I am looking for a solution to convert the standard x-axis to a time axis applying a formula.

The standard X-axis stepvalues should be multiplied with a factor, in my case with 0,005.
Can anyone help me with an example, to do so?

Many thanks in advance
Waveworks

Re: Formula to change X-axis Values

Post by Waveworks »

Hello,

You can use the special variable t, which refers to the sample number, in your formula to accomplish this. In your case, enter the formula time = 0.005 * t, which gives you a new variable time. Then drag the time variable onto the X axis, or right-click it and select Show On X Axis. Hope this helps!

Best regards,
Gustaf
Ulrich76

Post by Ulrich76 »

Hello Gustav,
yeah, it works : time=0.005*t

Thank you very much.

Ulrich76
Ulrich76

Post by Ulrich76 »

Hello Gustaf,

if I may ask an additional question:

To modify the Y-axis values, the formula y=y/3 is not accepted. What is the formula to modify the Y-values?
Waveworks

Post by Waveworks »

Hello again Ulrich,

You can't really change the Y axis as such, but you can scale individual variables. You have two options:
  1. Either you define a scaled version of the variable with a formula like y_scaled = y / 3. After that you can uncheck the Display checkbox of the original variable and look at the plot of the scaled version.
  2. Or you scale the actual values of the variable. In this case you need to right-click the variable and select Redefine..., and then you can write your formula y = y / 3, which will scale the values. Be careful though - if you save the file afterwards, the values will also be scaled in the CSV file.
Best regards,
Gustaf
Ulrich76

Post by Ulrich76 »

Hello Gustaf,

many thanks for your detailed and fast response.

I do it per redine and it works, great!